The Modern Back-Pass Rule In Soccer. As I mentioned already the rule states that the goalie can not handle the ball when it is received from a teammate as an intentional pass back to the goalie by kicking the ball or via a throw-in. The offense is punished with an indirect kick. This also includes any kind of “trickery” to get around this rule.
Back-passes with parts of the body other than the foot, such as headers, are allowed. Despite the popular name "back-pass rule", there is no requirement in the laws that the kick or throw-in must be backwards; handling by the goalkeeper is forbidden regardless of the direction the ball travels. The penalty for the offence is an indirect free kick. This is awarded from the position where the handling occurred, unless it is within the 6-yard goal area, in which the kick is taken from the point ...
It is not necessary for the ball to be “passed,” it is not necessary for the ball to go “back,” and it is not necessary for the deliberate play by the teammate to be “to” the goalkeeper. Posted in Law 12 - Fouls & Misconduct , Law 18 - Common Sense , Pass Back Rule
The back pass to goalkeeper rule has not completely outlawed the strategy. Outfield players can still pass the ball back. But, if they do, the goalkeeper must use their feet for ball control. Note: Keepers can handle the ball if it's deflected or redirected to them. As a rule, referees would not consider backpasses as fouls if they are unintentional deflections.
The rule is only known as a “back pass” because for most of the time, during a soccer game, the goalie is further back on the field than any other player. A pass to the goalie will almost always travel backward. The ball has to be kicked to the goalie by a player for it to be a back pass.
The back-pass rule states that a goalkeeper is forbidden to handle the ball when passed to them by a team-mate, according to Law 12, Section 2 of the Laws of the Game. Article continues below.
The Board modified this section of the Law this year, however, and has said that, following a deliberate kick from a teammate, if the goalkeeper tries to kick the ball but is not satisfied with the result and then handles the ball, the goalkeeper should not be charged with a pass-back offense because “the goalkeeper has clearly kicked or attempted to kick the ball to release it into play.” This quote is from Law 12 and we have emphasized the part of the quote that, to us at least ...